FCC Activates the Disaster data collection has been activated for HurricaneSandy for participating stations.

The Federal Communications Commission has activated the Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS) for the Hurricane Sandy storm event.

(See http://transition.fcc.gov/pshs/services/cip/dirs/dirs.html  for more information on this program.)

The FCC Information was released to participating stations as follows:


The area of interest for this activation includes the following counties:

Connecticut: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland, Windham

District of Columbia

Delaware: Kent, New Castle, Sussex

Maryland: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Baltimore City, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, St. Mary’s, Talbot, Washington, Wicomico, Worcester

Massachusetts: Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Plymouth

New Jersey: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, Warren

New York: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, Westchester

Pennsylvania: Adams, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bucks, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Frannklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Tioga, Union, York

Rhode Island: Bristol, Kent, Newport, Providence, Washington

Virginia: Accomack, Alexandria City, Arlington, Caroline, Charles City, Chesapeake City, Clarke, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Fauquier, Gloucester, Hampton City, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Manassas City, Manassas Park City, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Newport News City, Norfolk City, Northampton, Northumberland, Portsmouth City, Poquoson City, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Suffolk City, Surry, Virginia Beach City, Westmoreland, Williamsburg City, York

West Virginia: Berkeley, Jefferson, Morgan

If you have communications equipment in these counties, the FCC requests that you provide daily reports on the status of your equipment by using DIRS.  There is no need to report on stations, facilities, switches or PSAPs that are fully operational.

The FCC will monitor the storm’s progress closely and may extend DIRS activation to additional counties as needed in the coming days.

Time Schedule: We request that you provide the first set of initial reports by 10:00 am (Eastern Time) tomorrow October 30th.   Subsequent reports should be made by 10:00 am (Eastern Time) every day while DIRS is activated. If you have any information early on, we would appreciate if you would provide that information.

Accessing DIRS: The URL for DIRS is https://www.fcc.gov/nors/disaster/.

Login:  Please use your User ID (it is usually the characters before the @ sign on your e-mail address – it is case-sensitive).  If you do not remember your password, please use the forgotten password link on the login page.

After you log on, please fill in the reports for the types of equipment that you have in your network in the area of interest that have been affected by the storm.

There is a User Manual available at the DIRS website.

Coverage Maps:  NCS has requested that Wireless companies provide coverage maps for the area of interest.  If you are providing Wireless service in the area of interest, we further request that you provide coverage maps with your DIRS submission.  Please provide these maps in Adobe PDF format and email them to John.healy@fcc.gov, Julia.Tu@fcc.gov, and Michael.Caiafa@fcc.gov.