Amendment Of Part 15 Of The FCC’s Rules For Unlicensed White Space Devices

The FCC has taken steps to improve the accuracy and reliability of the fixed white space device data recorded in the white space databases and assure that the potential for these devices to cause interference to protected services is minimized.

The FCC adopted certain changes to the rules for fixed white space devices. Specifically, they now require all fixed white space devices to incorporate a geo-location capability such as GPS and eliminate the option that permitted the geographic coordinates of a fixed device to be determined by a professional installer. They also adopted rules that allow the use of external geo-location sources by a fixed white space device when the device is used at a location where its internal geo-location capability does not function, such as deep inside a building. In addition, they now require fixed white space devices to periodically re-check their geographic coordinates at least once a day and report the coordinates to the white space database. See Report and Order for additional information.

FCC Lifts LPTV & TV Translator Application Filing Freezes on April 18, 2019

The Media Bureau announced that, effective April 18, 2019, it is lifting the displacement and digital companion channel application filing freezes related to low power television and TV translator stations (LPTV/translator stations). These freezes were imposed to preserve channels for the window for LPTV/translator stations displaced by the Incentive Auction to file displacement applications (Special Displacement Window or Window). The displacement freeze was temporarily lifted to accommodate the filing of displacement applications by licensed LPTV/translator stations which were displaced by Incentive Auction matters in the Special Displacement Window. With completion of the Special Displacement Window on June 1, 2018, and post-Window settlement opportunity on January 10, 2019, the Media Bureau deems it appropriate to now lift these filing freezes. See Public Notice for additional details.

Gary And Cindy Cavell Honored With 2019 NAB Engineering Achievement Award In Radio And Television

The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) will present the NAB Engineering Achievement Awards at the 2019 NAB Show in Las Vegas. Cavell, Mertz & Associates’ President Garrison C. Cavell and Senior Broadcast Consulting Engineer Cindy Hutter Cavell will receive the awards at the We Are Broadcasters Celebration on Tuesday, April 9.

Established in 1959, the Engineering Achievement Awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.

The 2019 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award
Garrison C. Cavell is the President of Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc. and has worked in management and technology positions in radio and television broadcasting for over 40 years. Prior to cofounding Cavell, Mertz and its predecessor consulting firms in 1989, Cavell worked in radio and television engineering management, facility design and construction, program production, and station systems development in his home town of New Orleans. Cavell served as editor in chief for the 11th Edition of the NAB Engineering Handbook and is an IEEE and SMPTE Life Member.

The 2019 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award
Cindy Hutter Cavell serves as Senior Broadcast Consulting Engineer at Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc. with a specialty in television station and microwave system design and implementation. Her career includes stints as director of operations at ABC News’ Washington Bureau, engineering director for several local TV stations, vice president of Fox Sport’s Houston Technical Operations Center, and broadcast engineering director for Sprint Communications. As part of the ABC Broadcast Operations and Engineering team, Cavell has won three Emmy Awards for Technical Innovation, is the recipient of the AWRT/SBE 2007 Outstanding Female Broadcast Engineer award and holds the 2015 TVNewsCheck Women in Technology Award.